Western Dakota Association Male and Female Senior Scholar Award

Since 2009, the Western Dakota Association has recognized one boy and girl student-athlete annually through its WDA Senior Scholar Award.

The award, which is tied to the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NDIAAA) scholarship program, is open to all conference members.

Each member school can submit a completed application for one boy and one girl student-athlete to be considered for the WDA's $500 scholarship award. The WDA is proud to have its, premiere partner, Farmers Union Insurance, a contributor to this project.

The conference activities directors review the applications and select the recipients which are announced in March. The winners join the other region scholarship recipients from across the state who are then eligible for the state NDIAAA scholarship. The applications for the state winners are forwarded to a review panel at the sectional level. Sectional winners then qualify for the national award. The scholarships are paid directly to the higher education institution in which the recipient will attend. For more on the NDIAAA scholarship program, click here.

WDA Senior Scholar Recipients

YearBoy Scholar WinnerGirls Scholar Winner
2009Sam Aneson, MandanMollie Fearing, Williston 
2010Tyler Eikens, Williston Ashley Jahner, Dickinson 
2011 Kasey Gengler, JamestownAnna Hruby, Bismarck High
2012Devin Coyle, MandanTara Haussler, Bismarck High 
2013Austin Mack, DickinsonRachel Power, St. Mary's
2014 Ben Wanner, MandanEmily Lysne, Williston
2015Waylon DeCoteau, TMCHS*Rachel Lantz, Dickinson
2016Ben Hanson, JamestownAli Froehlich, Mandan
2017Brian Swanberg, LegacyEmily Bichler, St. Mary's
2018Brody Armstrong, Minot*Elizabeth Leingang, Mandan
2019Will Madler, Bismarck HighKailey Weigel, Legacy
2020Aaron Riopelle, MandanAlexis Dressler, Legacy*
2021Jaxon Duttenhefer, MandanTaylor Leingang, Mandan
2022Chance Bowlinger, Bismarck CenturyMadison Spacher, Watford City 
2023Kolden Kringen, WillistonAnna Bendish, Mandan
2024Owen Bittner, DickinsonBrenna Curl, St. Mary's

* State Scholar Recipient

Dickinson's Owen Bittner and Bismarck St. Mary's Brenna Curl are recipients of the 2023-24 WDA Senior Scholar Award. Presenting the awards was Stan Scott of Farmers Union Insurance. Farmers Union is the premiere sponsor of the Western Dakota Association and provides a match in funds for the scholarships. Photo by WDA SID